HUGE OPEN RECORDS NEWS

THIS is worth coming out of hibernation for;

9 News out of Denver, Colorado reports-

LITTLETON – It’s something many of us may take for granted, knowing your medical history or being able to go and get a copy of your birth certificate.

But many adopted Coloradans whose adoption records are sealed don’t have access to this important information that could be life changing, even life-saving.

A Colorado Court of Appeals decision made in April will change this reality for thousands.

According to the decision, people whose adoptions were finalized between July 1951 and July 1967 can find out the names of their birth parents and have access to all court records and papers regarding their adoption.

Although I am saddened by the discriminate exclusion of certain adoptees from this ruling (due to the date of my adoption finalization I miss the deadline by just a few months) I still whole-heartedly CELEBRATE the success for my fellow Colorado adoptees who will SOON HAVE ACCESS TO THEIR BIRTH RECORDS!!!

A great big THANK YOU to my friend and fellow adoptee Jeff Hannash and also to Rich and Holland and Hart for their tenacity, tireless effort and genuine concern when it comes to understanding the extreme importance of an adoptee’s right to personal identity.

I humbly acknowledge and genuinely appreciate your efforts.

***PLEASE pass this information along so we can get the word out to all adoptees for which this ruling may apply.***

8 Comments

Filed under Open Records

8 responses to “HUGE OPEN RECORDS NEWS

  1. Ted

    Hi!, I have compiled a list of the top adoption blogs, and yours was included! check it out at
    http://thedailyreviewer.com/top/Adoption

    You can claim your link badge at http://thedailyreviewer.com/pages/badges

  2. Pingback: Stop Lying on Adoptee’s Birth Certificates « adoptees' birth certificates made honest

  3. etropic

    Was there any reason given for just those specific years & not all original birth certificates? I am just not understanding the logic behind this? (Maybe there is none to get?)

  4. J.N.H. aka B.B.M.

    Etropic, I do hope you get this……There is a reason for the dates. Please feel free to read the opinion 08CA1235 April 16, 2009. Can be found on the Colorado State Court web site(or all over the internet for that matter). Gives a very good explaination for the decision and the legislative history behind Colorado adoption laws. There is more work to be done. Someday all of [us] will have our records!
    J.N.H.

  5. Awesome! I hope they get them open for everyone else too 🙂

  6. Where are you Father Brosnan?It’s 2012 and it’s soon time for all the demonstrations.I love adoptees uncondititionally and pray for us all night and day,have a good feeling ,thats all ,When I meditate on the demonstrations I get a warm feeling and want to jump for joy,only certain times,don’t know why,I am still grieving about loosing my 43 yr old on his bicycle and he’s killed instantly by it,my other son I feel empyt but have hopes,mabe that warm feeling is a sign of hope,hope you are still a priest,not to boast but your needed at the demonstrations,you are a winner of a speaker,I have prayed you would speak,they will in the name of Jesus.Thank you from facebooks mother of loss 0a son to adoption.

  7. […] come ricorda Dario Bonacina sul suo blog, c’u00e8 ben poco da stupirsi. L’elenco delle aziende che […] Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

  8. There are certainly loads of particulars like that to take into consideration. That may be a great point to deliver up. I provide the ideas above as normal inspiration however clearly there are questions just like the one you carry up where the most important thing shall be working in trustworthy good faith. I don?t know if greatest practices have emerged around issues like that, but I am sure that your job is clearly recognized as a good game. Both boys and girls really feel the impression of just a moment’s pleasure, for the remainder of their lives.

Leave a comment