Illegitimati Non Carborundum

I have been reading all of the great blog posts surrounding that mind bending interview Sean Hannity did with Ann Coulter. Isn’t it fascinating how much good can actually bloom out of the destructive ramblings of that ego driven madwoman?

In 2006 my husband decided to buy us tickets to the Hannity Freedom Concert at Six Flags. It was explained to me that the concert was to support the Freedom Alliance scholarship funds for the children of our fallen men and women on the front-lines. I am not a fan of country music but I succumbed for the awesome cause. LeAnn Rimes and Montgomery Gentry were to perform. I remember seeing LeAnn on Oprah a hundred years ago when she was just a wee one yodeling her little heart out and I was actually kind of looking forward to seeing her in concert. Not so much the Gentry boys but again it was for a good cause.

As it turned out it wasn’t so much a concert as it was a good ole’ boy boondoggle, a liberal lynching, a full blown right wing RALLY of infinite proportions. Rally roucous raisers included Olly North, Mark Levin, the queen beotch herself Ann Coulter and of course Lee Greenwood singing a heartwarming and gallant rendition of “God Bless the USA” which we all know no respectable republican rally should be without.

Now really try and picture this; I am standing smack in the center of an arena filled to capacity with extreme conservatives cheering madly and foaming at the mouth every time Elisabeth Hasselbeck (The View) showed some leg. OH, did I forget to mention that twit was there too? Yes, it was a real treat I tell you! Anyway, I am dressed in my “feed the hungry” tee, my “PEACE LOVER” baseball cap and flip flops. The only thing I was missing was a giant oak tree to hug . Now that I think about it it’s probably a good thing there was no tree because based on the looks I was getting I probably would have been strung up in it. I began to frantically look around for an escape route when it occurred to me that I was most likely completely surrounded by proud card holders of the NRA and quickly thought better of it.

My husband looked at me with horror in his eyes having clearly grasped the enormous err of his ways and anxiously shuffled his feet as he began contemplating the very long and cold ride home.

I began to hyperventilate. My hyperventilating soon moved to extreme anger though as I listened to Levin spew his message of hate toward liberals. His message was simple; if you are a liberal (which we all know is just freaking synonymous with being a democrat) you are anti-American. He went on to spout complete rhetoric like “when was the last time you met a liberal who supported our troops?” I wanted to scream HEY ASSHOLE THERE’S ONE RIGHT HERE, I’M RIGHT HERREEEEEE !!!!!! But I didn’t (mostly due to the aforementioned gun toting statistic) and I regret it. I really do. I don’t understand why people like that can’t grasp the simple concept that a person doesn’t need the fluff, flags and firearms to be a good American. Nor do they need those things to FULLY support our troops. I AM a good American and I DO fully support the men and women who have bravely decided to defend our country. How many times do we have to tell these yahoos that a person actually CAN support our troops and not support the damn war or even….gasp….the presidents choices? What kind of idiot can’t understand that the ability to speak our minds and HAVE an opinion is what makes this country so great?!

What does this have to do with adoption? You knew it was here somewhere right?

Well when I read the commentary between Hannity and Coulter I had flashbacks of the hateful speech she gave at the concert. Her agenda is simple; hate what you are not. In her case….human.

During the interview Coulter states; “it’s a choice not to give an illegitimate child up for adoption…” I paraphrase here because I’m sure by now most of you have read the entire debacle. If not go here.

I take it personally when the word illegitimate is used. Silly? Maybe. It is after all just a word but it is one that is used to describe not only myself but ALL of my fellow adoptees at one point in our lives. The most important part too I might add; the beginning. Now in the spirit of fairness our status is upgraded once the ink is dry and more importantly it is a valid term taken straight from the pages of the dictionary. Take a look;

*il·le·git·i·mate

  1. Against the law; illegal.
  2. Born out of wedlock.
  3. Grammar Not in correct usage.
  4. Incorrectly deduced; illogical.
  5. Biology Unacceptable as a scientific name because of contradiction to the international rules of nomenclature.

1536, “born out of wedlock,” formed in Eng., modeled on L. illegitimus “not legitimate.” Sense of “unauthorized, unwarranted” is from 1645. Phrase illegitimati non carborundum, usually “translated” as “don’t let the bastards grind you down,” is fake Latin from c.1939. Carborundum was a brand of abrasives (reg. trademark U.S. June 21, 1892, by Carborundum Co. of Monongahela City, Pa.). The compound was made from carbon and silicon; the word from carbon + corundum.

None the less I ask you is it really NECESSARY in 2009 to use such an archaic term (473 years old to be exact) when describing ANY CHILD……EVER?! I mean if anyone should be called illegitimate its Coulter because everything that comes out of that hateful woman’s mouth is; Incorrectly deduced; illogical.

Dear Annie, Can I call you Annie? I just love the irony there. If you were a good conservative you would read your bible and there you would learn that no child is ever ILLEGITIMATELY born into this world. But that insignificant point aside sweetie let me give you some advice; when you wake up every day with the intent to spread your message of anger and hate but just can’t seem to find the energy to face those gawd awful peace loving dredges of society, just remember…… words can’t hurt you! And if you ever begin to question the path you have chosen simply look in the mirror and repeat this mantra;

Don’t let the bastards grind you down”!

*The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth EditionCopyright © 2006 by Houghton Mifflin Company.Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.

6 Comments

Filed under Adoption Politics, Media

6 responses to “Illegitimati Non Carborundum

  1. Mia, this post is amazing. I don’t know how you stood it, I probably would have fainted dead away or opened my big mouth and gotten myself beaten to a pulp.

    I’m so 10000% on board with you and the word “illegitimate.” The paperwork we received from Korea for each of our children had a little section at the bottom with check boxes – yes, little places to label my children with check marks – that listed all the possible combinations of their parents’ marital status and their births. “Illegitimate” was one of the choices. Once when I was in Korea I asked a social worker why that couldn’t be changed, and she gave me some legal bull as an answer.

    This may have changed, I need to find out. But somehow I bet it hasn’t.

    As for Ann Coulter: Lordy, would I love to wrap a roll of duct tape around that woman’s mouth.

  2. I’m practically having a panic attack just imagining the scene, and I’m glad I missed Hannity and Coulter in the first place. Two terrible people who go great together.

  3. Margie if I had it to do over again I would let them drag me out on a stretcher just to keep my dignity intact. As it is I will always regret not speaking up in my loudest and proudest American voice.

    Abebech you should be glad you missed it. If it weren’t for Colmes’ comedic intervention I would have found it a thorough waste of time.

  4. Kippa

    Ann Coulter is just too bizarre for me. I can’t take in anything that has to do with her. I just see that Adam’s apple bobbing up and down and I shut off.
    Maybe it’s a flight reaction.

  5. Awesome way of thinking. I love it. Appreciate your posting

  6. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My website is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Many thanks!
    woolrich jassen http://jsconsultancy.nl/wp-content/themes/woolrichjassen/

Leave a Reply

