Scary Prank “PAP” call

I  am still manning the AF phone lines (ahem….any volunteers?). I get plenty  of legit calls but I usually  have to  wade  through some crap  every  time I  check the messages. I would like to mention that I  CLEARLY state on the answering  machine that AF is a SUPPORT org.  and NOT an agency  and yet  we still  get calls from  pap’s asking for help adopting a baby. I had one woman who actually left a detailed message saying  she wanted  a white, healthy boy child with blue eyes, no older than two. Preferably within  six  months. I  am NOT kidding. I threw up a little in my  mouth while listening to her message.

Yesterday I received the following prank call. The girls are young, maybe 7  or 8? No mistaking their youth. I wish I was more tech savvy so I  could post this prank  call for you to actually listen to. As  it stands  I am not, so I will have to  do this transcript style.

Check this out:

“Hi, I’m Brittney”

“And I’m Whitney”

“We  wanna’  adopt  a girl.”

“We are a lesbian couple  and we really  REALLY want a daughter”

“Yea, and we are 28 so  we  can get one. We can  get whatever we want WHEN we want cause’ our daddy’s are RICH!”

“Please call  us back as soon  as  you can”

“Yea, cause’  we want a baby now”

“UhHuhhhhh”

“Hugs and kisses”

“Toodles”

At first you want to laugh right? Kids will be  kids and all of that. But the more you sit with this (and it doesn’t take long) the more disturbing it becomes.

Those  of us here in blogland scream about  the state  of adoption affairs and yet we are rarely listened to by  those who actually  need to listen.  What will  it take? How about  the fact  that our young  CHILDREN seem to CLEARLY get what adoption has turned into?

When we talk or write of entitlement we often get the same old tired response; “What do  you meannnn by  saying we feel entitled?” “I don’t understannnnndddd!” Why  DON’T you understand? These 8 year olds understand! What is so freaking complicated about it?  Adoption isn’t about providing  homes for children in need anymore.  It is (in most instances, not all) about providing babies to people  who “need”  them. Babies have become a  marketable commodity and the adoption process has turned corrupt. Period. What is so difficult  to understand? Money CAN buy you love…. or at least it can buy  you a baby.

I think it is insanely STUPID that our adult  population won’t can’t seem  to grasp this but  our CHILDREN CAN!

4 Comments

Filed under Adoption Politics, Adoption Schmoption, Adoptive Family

4 responses to “Scary Prank “PAP” call

  1. surrogate

    Very thoughtful post.

  2. Fishing today! Any bites? Not for long, I’m stealing your worm.

  3. Yikes! Never would have seen that one coming!

  4. Yes. When I’m on Youtube I come across kids making playacting videos sometimes of adoption, or pretending to be adoptive parents, and what you wrote is so true. In the midst of their giggles and shouting while reciting their lines, you can see that they know.

    So you ever find that HWI with blue eyes for that lady yet? Hurry up – you’ve only got six months. She needs it in time for the Christmas card photos.

Leave a Reply

