WHY AM I SCREAMING?

(I am leaving the post up because it is my honest reaction, but I’m removing the link to the site. I don’t want to be responsible for driving traffic there.)

I WILL BE SCREAMING UNTIL SOMEONE TELLS ME THIS IS SOME SORT OF SICK, TWISTED JOKE OR UNTIL I AM CONTACTED BY A GOVERNMENT OFFICIAL TELLING ME THIS IS A STING OPERATION. UNTIL SOMEONE TELLS ME THIS IS NOT REAL THEN THIS CEASING TO EXIST IS THE ONLY WAY I WILL EVER SLEEP AGAIN.

Oh and if this is simply elaborate satire……….I am NOT laughing.

Note:

Bottom line for everyone who sees the humor in this:

Regardless of whether or not someone was just trying to bring to light the need for adoption reform with dark humor…..the fact remains that there are CHILDREN’S PICTURES slathered all over that website which makes it exploitation. I am blown away that this site has been allowed to remain on the internet for as long as it has and am OUTRAGED at the idea that someone’s desire for adoption reform (in this case through “humor”) would outweigh accountability to those children! To find humor in this AND be a proponent of adoption reform is vastly hypocritical. It’s a freaking oxymoron!!!!!!

25 Comments

Filed under Adoption Politics, Adoptive Family, International and Transracial Adoption ~, Media, Natural Family, Truthful Musings

25 responses to “WHY AM I SCREAMING?

  1. OH MY GOODNESS!!!!!!!!!

    WHAT THE FUCKING HELL IS THAT!!!!!!!!!

    I’M DISGUSTED. ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTED

  2. Ronnie

    One would think this is too bad to be true like you said. If this is a reputable organization you would think it would be easy to find out about.
    I can’t imagine being able to have a 3 to 17 year old to “volunteer” to be adopted with the “understanding” they would possibly be giving up an organ at some point in their life. That is bribery and no way that could be legal.
    You hear about scams like this all the time, I’m sure somebody could be getting some $ out of it. I would think on a deal like this anyone paying for this or even inquiring about it could be charged with slavery of children.
    You are correct though it needs to be nipped in the bud legit or not.

    R

  3. Me too Erin. Please post about it.

  4. Am about to post about this right now. This is sick and disgusting. Beyond the limits of any of the crudest “jokes” I have ever, EVER seen in my life. And the fact that there are real pictures of real children, saying things like they have “flawless kidneys” and “dream of being a household servant” is vile, dehumanizing on every level and just WRONG.

    I AM LIVID!!!! Who can we report this to? I am sending this to my state reps – this needs to be taken down immediately.

  5. Even if it IS satire, it is exploitative. One of my thoughts was how glad I was that I had never posted an image of my children on line — I cannot imagine anyone gave permission for the use of these images.

  6. Paula I am trying to figure that out now. I think state reps is a great start.

    Abebech I agree although I don’t think I will be able to rest until I know for a fact it’s a joke AND that website is gone.

  7. suz

    Viral marketing at its finest. This is going around everywhere. My inbox was flooded with emails about it this a.m.

    My ehbabes list reported it to the IL attorney general, another member emailed the IC3, I did a whois look up on the domain and found the registrar and such. It looks all bogus. I know people (sadly) who did shit like this, called it a satire, a parody. (I am not friendly with them).

    What frightens me the most about this? Is that this could indeed happen (if it isn’t already). I am thinking of Atwood’s “Handmades Tale” where women are used to produce children for others, PD James “Children of Men” and a few other fiction stories that talk about cloning children, adopting children to harvest their organs.

    How is that any different from illegally taking a child to pretend it is yours?

    This is the dark shadow of all that is good in adoption.

  8. Who is it registered to Suz?

  9. suz

    Check out the company name. Bikini spelled backwards? Mr. Oprano? This seems highly bogus to me but sadly not out of the question.

    ===============

    WHOIS information for: medicaladoptions.com:

    [whois.directnic.com]
    Registration and WHOIS Service provided by directNIC.com

    Intercosmos Media Group, Inc. provides the data in the directNIC.com
    Registrar WHOIS database for informational purposes only. The information
    may only be used to assist in obtaining information about a domain name’s
    registration record.

    directNIC makes this information available “as is”, and does not guarantee
    its accuracy.

    Registrant:
    INIKIB TECHNOLOGY, INC
    P.O. Box 2902
    Largo, FL 33786
    US
    368-9677

    Domain Name: MEDICALADOPTIONS.COM

    Administrative Contact:
    Inikib, Mr. oprano@gmail.com
    P.O. Box 2902
    Largo, FL 33786
    US
    368-9677

    Technical Contact:
    Inikib, Mr. oprano@gmail.com
    P.O. Box 2902
    Largo, FL 33786
    US
    368-9677

    Record last updated 06-14-2007 04:30:09 PM
    Record expires on 06-05-2008
    Record created on 06-05-2007

    Domain servers in listed order:
    NS0.DIRECTNIC.COM 69.46.233.245
    NS1.DIRECTNIC.COM 69.46.234.245

    By submitting a WHOIS query, you agree you will use this data only for
    lawful purposes. You also agree that, under no circumstances, will you use
    this data to: (a) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission by
    email, telephone, or facsimile of mass, unsolicited, commercial advertising
    or solicitations to entities other than the data recipient’s own existing
    customers; or to (b) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes
    that send queries or data to the systems of any Registry Operator or
    ICANN-accredited registrar.

    The compilation, repackaging, dissemination, or other use of this WHOIS
    data is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of
    directNIC.com.

    directNIC.com reserves the right to terminate your access to its WHOIS
    database in its sole discretion, including without limitation, for
    excessive querying of the database or for failure to otherwise abide by
    this policy.

    directNIC reserves the right to modify these terms at any time.

    NOTE: THE WHOIS DATABASE IS A CONTACT DATABASE ONLY.
    LACK OF A DOMAIN RECORD DOES NOT SIGNIFY DOMAIN AVAILABILITY.

    Verio Inc. – Growing Your Business, One Click At A Time

  10. I was just coming to post the whois. I stalked him a little and only found where he was selling tickets for some football game. I’m not blogging this because I don’t want to give it more traffic. I do think it’s satire but I can’t figure out who the hell he is that he thinks it’s funny.

    Abebech — the pics are probably copyright-free art you get off places like photos.com.

    I’m going to go stalk him some more. If I find anything, I’ll report back. 😦

  11. Ok, I typed the phone number into google and got these two sites:
    http://bsds.com.ua/index-4.html, which also has the same address. And this:
    http://www.advancedrealities.com/index-8.html, which is obviously a test site. (The first one might be, too.)

    I’m thinking the bikini guy is a web developer with too much time on his hands.

    Off for more stalking!

  12. Thanks Suz. I agree with you on the frightening aspect of this “joke” being an incredibly real possibility.

    Bottom line for everyone who sees the humor in this: Regardless of whether or not someone was just trying to bring to light the need for adoption reform with dark humor…..the fact remains that there are CHILDREN’S PICTURES slathered all over that website which makes it exploitation. I am blown away that this site has been allowed to remain on the internet for as long as it has and am OUTRAGED that someone’s desire for adoption reform (in this case through “humor”) would outweigh accountability to those children! To find humor in this AND be a proponent of adoption reform is vastly hypocritical. It’s a freaking oxymoron!!!!!!

  13. Ok, so there are a TON of domains using this same contact number — has anyone called it? I’m totally confused. I’ll stop bogging down your comments now but I’m going to keep stalking!

  14. Bog away Dawn. Thank you so much for your help.

  15. kimkim

    I find real websites of genuine adoption agencies more disgusting.

    I don’t have a strong reaction to this one because I can see that it’s not a serious website but that does’t mean I support it.

    The genuine websites and places like adoption.com are in my opinion far more dangerous and offensive. They actually do make money out of getting babies away from mothers.

  16. kimkim

    That said, I am not an adoptee so perhaps from an adoptee perspective it’s upsetting.

    I don’t support this website Mia, just want to super clarify that point.

  17. Wow. I think it’s fake, but it’s absolutely disgusting.

  18. mia

    KIM! It’s really great to hear from you! I hear what you are saying. One is most likely a false situation and one is very real. All I can say is we each have to make a difference in every way we can. A website of this nature adds loads of negative energy to the already negative unethical parts of adoption. I just don’t see how a website of this nature could do any good at all toward the goal of adoption reform. But even more important it exploits children. Even if those pictures are stock photos, they are still somebody’s children. The website has got to go. We’ll keep plugging away Kim. Some day coersion of mothers won’t exist either. (((Kim)))

  19. Pingback: Please Tell Me This Isn’t Real « My Sky ~ Multiracial Family Life

  20. I’m screaming too, Mia. Freaking disgusting, can’t even read it.

  21. I emailed the Evan B. Donaldson Institute about this web site and got this response:

    “It’s a hoax, and it’s horrible. It needs to be shut down … stay tuned; I believe it will be. Adam.”

    Adam Pertman, Executive Director
    Evan B. Donaldson Adoption Institute

  22. mia

    Thank You so much Denise.

  23. PaulE

    Oh that site needs to be gone.

    I did some poking around in google and found out about this www dot oprano dot com

    Could it be connected? Looked like a bunch of p*rn*graphers hanging out there to me. They are well known for not caring a bit for kids and they would have the necessary skills.

  24. I’m not sure Paul. I have some idea but it’s just theory so I can’t comment on it. Hopefully it will just disappear. I know now there are people looking into it which makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

