The Zoo

An adoptee friend of mine asked if I had watched that show on adoption two nights ago. He said he thought about calling me and telling me it was on. I asked him for an overview and he began “it was about two young mother’s who decide”…..

I cut him off.

“I’m glad you didn’t call. I would not have watched it. I can tell you exactly what happened during that show<cough infomercial cough> without even having turned my television on.”

I sent him somewhere he could get some facts on that TV special. He wrote me yesterday.

“After all this time I’m still a vulnerable and ignorant adoptee wandering around like a helpless cricket in a bird cage.
I just wanted to think there might be something positive about the process………guess not.”

That hurts because there IS something positive about the process. Or at least there should be, but how we shift the jacked up mess we have made of the adoption process in this country I do not know. How do we remove the greedy, sticky, self serving hands from the adoption pot? We all know the answer but have absolutely no clue how we accomplish such a monumental feat. The answer to this dilemma of course is to simply quit feeding them but how we go about getting people to stop giving them insane amounts of money is beyond me. The “Please Don’t Feed the Animals” signs aren’t working.

For the past several weeks I have had the wind taken right out of my encouraged sails when it comes to believing I personally can make a difference. People who speak out about the corruption, manipulation, coercion and greed that happens every single day across this country seem to be spitting in the wind. I have said it before and I will say it again; Our cries fall on deaf and entitled ears. Too many people seem to think its perfectly acceptable to give the lion a double cheeseburger if he provides them a good photo op.

Recently another very good friend brought something to my attention which solidified my ongoing suspicions regarding certain organizations and the extreme corruption and greed that goes on behind the scenes when it comes to adoption. Imagine wanting legislation passed that allows for an unborn child to be named as the member of another family. Can we not give mothers even this time? Imagine using the idea that an employer might somehow convince a perspective adoptive parent not to adopt a child with potential genetic health issues (because insurance rates would go up) as a viable reason to keep records sealed. Now if that isn’t the most preposterous claim ever I don’t know what is. How many employers do you know that would DARE do such a thing? How many of you would work for such an employer?

Why don’t they just come right out and SAY they fear losing out on cheeseburgers if adoptees were to come with a fully intact set of roots? Truthfully I think they would get far more support from the political arena if they were truthful about their greedy intent. Greed is a well understood concept at the D.C. Zoo.

img_0713.jpg

I was playing/doodling and this is what came out. This is the original but yesterday I had the urge to change it. The angel’s wings are now made of dollar bills.

18 Comments

Filed under Truthful Musings

18 responses to “The Zoo

  1. Ronnie

    Well I’ve been quoted…….how about that, who’da thunk it? I’m honored, I think……..

    Let me just say this my dear sister. Just cause the wind aint blowen your skirt up don’t meen it aint blowen. We tend to be pretty impatient and want results right now but as we get older we see things happen, (especially important things such as law changes and convincing someone how special they are) come pretty slow. Sometimes an effort worth while can be a long row to hoe, but don’t quit hoeing.

    I have learned while observing my wife’s grandmother and her life, the magnitude of her work. She only got a glimpse of the work she did and the lives she effected. She would and did say she had never done anything worth a flip.

    The friend you have today and the relationship you and I have is a result of some of the work you have put forth. Not exactly what you expected but I think it was well worth it.

    We have no idea of how much good we are doing or when or how it will work out but we keep going if we think it is the right thing to do.

    I guess patience should be the next topic for us to work on.

    Love you

  2. mia

    I don’t think anyone has ever said “don’t quit hoeing” to me before.
    Must be a Texas thing. LOL
    Love U 2.

  3. KT

    Tried to a-mend my carnivorous habits
    Made it nearly seventy days
    Losin’ weight without speed, eatin’ sunflower seeds
    Drinkin’ lots of carrot juice and soakin’ up rays.
    But at night I’d have these wonderful dreams, some kind of sensuous treat.
    Not zucchini, fettucini or bulgar wheat, but a big
    warm bun and a huge hunk of meat.

    Cheeseburger in paradise
    Heaven on earth with an on-ion slice
    Not too particular, not too precise, I’m just a
    Cheeseburger in paradise

    Heard about the old-time sailor men
    They eat the same thing again and again
    Warm beer and bread they said could raise the dead
    Well, it reminds me of the menu at a Holiday Inn.

    But times have changed for sailors these days
    When I’m in port I get what I need.
    Not just Havanas or bananas or daiquiris
    But that American creation on which I feed.

    Cheeseburger in paradise
    Heaven on earth with an on-ion slice
    Not too particular, not too precise, I’m just a
    Cheeseburger in paradise

    I like mine with lettuce and tomato
    Heinz 57 and French fried potatoes
    Big kosher pickle and a cold draft beer
    Well, good God Almighty, which way do I steer for my

    Cheeseburger in paradise
    Heaven on earth with an on-ion slice
    Not too particular, not too precise, I’m just a
    Cheeseburger in paradise

    (….couldn’t resist…would u expect anything less from me?….LOL…..thank you Mr. Buffett! My mentor in life, no doubt!)

  4. Ronnie

    We Texans have a lot of good things to say if we could juss get you knucle heads to listen. As I have said I need to apply patients.

  5. Amy

    Its about dang time. We have to fight. I can’t stop it. Everyday I hear, read or see something that confirms my belief that adoption as it stands today needs to STOP (Polly that is special for you since you love Mia and myself so much). I am not someone who has been just bouncing around. I have done my research. I have read the books, studies, listen to the mothers, the adoptees, and the adoptive parents. Sorry just can’t take it anymore. I will fight this until my dying breath. Then my daughters will continue the fight. Did you know that Georgia Tann is one of the primary people responsible for sealed records. She did it to protect herself and insecure adoptive parents. The other agencies couldn’t compete with her so they followed her example. Gee they disapproved of her but yet wanted to compete with her on her level. It still continues to this day.

  6. mia

    You’re MY mentor KT. ;o)

    Ronnie if I don’t listen will you do to me what you do to those poor little squirrels? LOL

    I know Amy but I’m so tired of fighting and it doesn’t seem to work anyway. I am trying to find another way because fighting just seems to get me more of the same. I think I am going to continue to use my blog to vent when I’m frustrated but try to find another way to make a difference IRL. I just don’t have much fight left in me anymore.

  7. Oh Mia that picture! The beautiful serene angel. The first thing you see are the joined hands and you think, ‘Help. Aid. Guidance”, until you see the character being taken from the tree. A weeping willow – how apt.

    I’d love to see the revision with the dollar bill wings. I love too that the wings are behind her back so to speak, so that they’re hidden from view of the person being ‘helped’. So you at first glance recognize the form of the angel, but until you look closer you don’t realize the intent and what gives her power, so to speak. Then that’s when the whole thing hits you. Yanked from her roots and flown away on the wings of profit.

  8. mia

    (((((Theresa)))))) Will you be my agent? You’re good!!!!

  9. bdad

    Don’t stop speaking out. Your voice is needed and it is heard.

    “Imagine wanting legislation passed that allows for an unborn child to be named as the member of another family”, Is this a real proposal or just a future vision, either way it scares the heck out of me and it would be the stealing of an adoptee’s last link to their own heritage. The thought of it makes me feel sick inside. As a first father, it is one more slap in the face from society and I don’t need anymore slaps in the face from society. Ignoring whether or not adoption is good or bad, it sure as hell isn’t easy.

  10. Ah – Miss Mia – I’m so very glad you’re still here.
    Yeah – fighting can get so very very tiring.
    But you being here makes a difference in my life – so thank you.
    Poss. xxx

  11. mia

    bdad I’ll send you the link if you give me your email addy. Thank you for your comment!

    Possum I feel the same. Thanks… ((((Poss)))

  12. <em?Imagine wanting legislation passed that allows for an unborn child to be named as the member of another family.

    That’s just sick.

    As is the employer idea.

    The open records thing — seems like SUCH a no-brainer to me, but obviously a lot of people out there have no brains.

    I am obviously not hit in the solar plexus quite like you or other adoptees are, but I am thoroughly disgusted also. Well, I certainly don’t want to bring your attention to other things that would most certainly bum you out.

    It’s certainly a struggle. Give yourself a break, Mia, if you need one. A long one.

    And take care of you.

  13. Polly

    No, Amy, I don’t love you at all. Mia, I find a thoughtful and sensitive person who actually uses her brain. You, I actually find a bitter small woman who wants others to feel as miserable as you and who gets hysterical when someone doesn’t think like you. I recommend deep and long-term therapy instead of trying to spread your poison. You are letting the bitterness ruin your life. Life is too short. And I know you both hate to hear it, but there are plenty of adoptees out there who are happy and well-adjusted, who don’t blame adoption for their personal “issues.” I hope you both find your way to where they are.

  14. Love love love the analogy! Brilliant post as always, my friend!

  15. mia

    Thank You JIH I am taking care of myself and loving it. So good to see you!

    Hi Polly. Thank you for your comment.

    ATM….I miss you. I’ll be by soon, I promise.

  16. Ronnie

    Polly, you might be surprised to know that we discuss at length the possibility that we might be blaming some of our “personal issues” on adoption. I acknowledge that many of my problems are no different than everybody else. Speaking for myself, I know that I tend to have low self-esteem, am a people pleaser to a fault, and want love and attention at almost any cost. Add needy and a bunch of others to the list. When I was introduced to a host of other adoptees I was shocked to find out a lot of this is real common with adoptees.

    I struggle asking myself is it just me? Is it the way I was raised or did I inherit some of these traits? Add to the confusion that some of us know full well part of it is due to our upbringing because our adoptive parents were Looney. Most adoptees don’t know about what they might have inherited BECAUSE THEY ARE REFUSED access to their records with no way of finding out. I hope you can appreciate all that might go on in a person’s mind when the answers to so many questions are locked up.

    The point is we acknowledge and own up to many of our faults. We talk to each other about how to deal with them. We get on blogs such as this to air out our thoughts and try to help each other. We are concerned for others who might have the same questions. The problems we have might be no different than any “normal, well adjusted” person would have, but we don’t know. We can’t know and we won’t know. I hope you can see where that might be frustrating.

  17. thank you, and with that I just exhaled about 20 pounds off my chest. I’m in the pursuit with you guys!! I’m not giving up!! Maybe we could pinpoint the large funders, and find areas outside of adoption to exploit them or sue them and take all their money from a backyard approach? totally unadoption related reasons ( since society doesn’t listen to the adoption “hurts” reasons ) and just drain their accounts that way. Then they couldn’t fund……Like set the chairmen up with monica and a box of cigars or something… ?

  18. mia

    LOL Gershom…..LOLOLOL

Leave a Reply

