Camel Book Drive

I have an addiction, I love books. Of course I love to read them but there is so much more to it. I don’t think there is anything quite like opening a brand new book. I love touching it, SMELLING the pages, admiring its beauty. I have this thing about my books. I like them clean and new. Not that I don’t have hundreds of used books (I actually collect very old books) but I prefer new.

The possibilities of where the book will take me is a high for me. When I was a child I used books to escape. I would crawl under the covers of my bed and pretend it was a tent located somewhere exotic. Somewhere other than where I was. Armed with a flashlight and a good book I could be anyone I chose and BE anywhere I wanted to be. Due to a developed sense of claustrophobia I don’t crawl under the covers anymore but one of my favorite things in the whole world to do is lie in a tent and read a book by flashlight. It would seem my children have found this love of literature as well. I hope it is not for the same reasons I did as a child and simply because there is nothing better than a good book and a cozy tent.

Here is a picture of my daughter writing in her journal about what she had just read. Too cool.

img_1415.JPG

As it happens a shelf on my overburdened bookshelf collapsed yesterday. I think it’s a sign. Time to let go of some of my books and feel good about where they go. In some divinely inspired twist of Internet fate I stumbled upon the website of a fellow adoptee yesterday. On her blog was a post describing one of the coolest things I have seen in a long time.

Check it out and if you have an abundance of books lying about please consider donating them. Even if you don’t have books to donate you can help out in any number of other ways.
Camel Book Drive

While you are at it drop by and say hello to Susan. Here are a couple of links to her posts about the Camel Drive.

The Camel Book Drive is an Awesome Thing

Camel Book Drive Update

Thank you so much!

5 Comments

Filed under Healing Through Art, Life in general

5 responses to “Camel Book Drive

  1. Hi Mia!
    I’m giving you a Thinking Blogger Award because I think you’re great.

  2. Why THANK YOU Beth!!!! How awesome!

  3. This is great! Thanks for mentioning it.

  4. I also adore books. I used to have a tough time letting them go but now I box them up every so often and donate to several area charities.

    There is nothing better than starting a new book…and having a few hours of uninterupted peace.

    I did the flashlight also as a kid.

  5. Love BOOKS! I also used them to escape. Funny that I too have claustrophobia. I’ve whittled down my book collection but will follow your link. Have a great day! Rebecca

Leave a Reply

