Adoption Journey Told Through Art

img_0121.jpg

This painting started out as a purple hazy liquid. The girl just emerged from the liquid on her own. None of this was planned and she evolved like a phoenix rising out of the ashes. I see the strongest symbols to be strength and power.

I perceive this painting as survival and rebirth. Emerging from the murky waters and discovering who I am. My cloak is tattered after years of silence, as truth prevails. My spirit remains intact. I have sprouted wings. They are young wings because I have just learned that I can fly. My eyes are Christmas green representing joy, hope and faith. Crimson lips that are alluring and inviting because they want to speak but they are sealed because I still feel in many ways I have no voice. The light of the moon casts a golden haze around my body, an “aura” of protection. A moonstone hangs around my neck.

I think it’s interesting to note that I learned after I created this the meaning behind some of the symbols in the painting.

Gold is a color that reflects dynamic spiritual energy and a true coming into one’s own power. It reflects the higher energies of devotion and a restoration of harmony. It indicates strong enthusiasm and great inspiration. It indicates a time of revitalizing.

Muddier shades of gold can indicate the person is still in the process of awakening higher inspiration and has not clarified it yet within his/her life. It reflects the alchemical process still being active, i.e., the person is till working to turn the lead of his/her life into gold.

Moonstone Gemstone meaning:
passionate love that will fly you to the moon

It has been worn as an amulet to bring good emotions to the wearer, while protecting those of a sensitive nature. It can reunite lovers who have quarreled. Moonstone is also considered a good luck stone.

Moonstone is a very personal stone. It is a reflection of the person who owns it. It does not add or detract, only shows how it is. This is why the moonstone is said to perceive that which “is”.

Moonstone is a stone of inner growth and strength.

img_0126.JPG

The sadness in this sculpture was a shock to discover. I can clearly see that she represents the saddest point of my reunion. The three or so months after I was told my first mother wanted no contact and that I was the product of rape. I was questioning my entire existence, my identity and my reason for being. You are told that your conception has nothing to do with who you are but the message “stay away from me” that is sent by denying contact contradicts that. You can grasp something logically and still be deeply affected emotionally. The heart and the mind don’t always work in tandem. It was a confusing and desperate time.  I felt alone, naked and extremely vulnerable. Finding out about my conception from an intermediary (a stranger) and later from E that the rape thing isn’t exactly truthful is probably the one thing I could see myself never fully forgiving my first mother for. I think that sadness is in this sculpture too.

It is amazing for me to see how far I have come when I look at the sculpture and then look at the painting. I am coming up on my one year blog anniversary. Going back and reading my posts from last January also shows me how much healing has taken place. I feel like our blogs are expressions of healing through art as well. Honestly I don’t know where I would be if I didn’t have these ways to express myself. I was silent for so long. Now I can’t imagine having to keep all of this toxic stuff inside. The idea is ludicrous, I will never do that to myself again.

Thank you all so much for being a part of my journey!

15 Comments

Filed under Healing Through Art

15 responses to “Adoption Journey Told Through Art

  1. Wow, Mia! I love your works of art! Thank you so much for explaining the symbolism behind your painting. That gave it depth and meaning as I studied it.

    And your sculpture, all I can say is AMAZING! I love this. How movingly you’ve captured the saddest point of your reunion.

    I do hope that your art is a theraputic for you. Thank you again for sharing!

  2. Suz

    love them both. adore the sculpture. very impressive.
    i am amazed at the creativity in adoption. how so many of us manage to funnel our angst into such creative outlets.

  3. Mia

    Thank you both!

    You are right Suz. Creativity is limitless in regards to expressing our feelings. That IS amazing and exciting. Imagine what we could do collectively!

  4. That figurine is amazing

  5. Wow, Mia…had no idea you were so talented. Blown away by figurine. Can you direct me to previous post on half-truth rape story as revealed by your b.m.? The way it unfolded must have been devastating. I’m sorry. But at least you have a creative outlet for all that bottled up “stuff.”

  6. Mia

    Grinning ear to ear. Thanks Wraith!

    Nina I will look for previous posts on that. I know I have mentioned it but I can’t say for sure if there is a specific post about it or not. I’ll see what I can dig up.

  7. Mia – your art is truly breathtaking and even more so knowing the history and the meaning behind each of them. I am truly moved. Thank you so much for sharing them – they are incredible.

  8. Wow, Mia. It took awhile for my computer to load the images, but they were worth the wait!

  9. I’m so glad you posted your artwork. I’m amazed. It’s INCREDIBLE. The statue really made me feel.

    Thank you.

  10. Thanks for sharing Mia. Love the colors, and that sculpture, what is it made of?

    The arts really move me (my favorite place in the world is the Louvre).

  11. Really fabulous! You are sooooo creative!

  12. kim.kim

    I bet if you had an aura photo the colours in the painting would be the colours of your aura.

    You have a lot of talent, I love coming to your blog and finding new posts.

  13. Mia,

    I’ve been thinking about you…and your art. How calming and wonderful it is to know another adoptee who is finding themselves and their healing journey through art. Your talent is really something and your understanding of your process keen. Thank you so much for being on this road…this journey…so that I could find you and feel less alone and more like we are beginning to build a band of souls marching into our own strength.

    gwendolyn

  14. I am glad you are able to express yourself in so many ways Mia. It is truly refreshing and healthy for you and those you inspire.

  15. Mia

    Thank you all so much.

    Elizabeth I use a terra cotta clay one can purchase at any good craft store. Also, it is a dream of mine to visit the Louvre. I can only imagine how spectacular it is!

    Kim I had one of those taken once. It was so much fun! My aura colors were all serene and then my kids ran in and were fighting and it turned red! lol I’ll bet you are right about the colors in the painting.

    Gwendolyn that is a really wonderful image.

Leave a Reply

