Welcome!

img_0027.JPG

WELCOME to my new digs! I think I have everything running as smoothly as I can at this time. There are still some kinks to work out. For instance I have not figured out how to get my own photos to show up on the flickr widget. It is a widget correct? Oh I feel like a hopeless wanna’ be techie although I am proud that I have gotten this far! All of my posts from blogger arrived safe and sound. I am not done categorizing them but that will take some time.

I am trying to learn Italian and thought it would be fun to use it every so often. I have no idea if my use of it in categories is correct and I am certainly open to correction if it is not. It seemed like a nice choice considering I still have not found specific adoption language I am completely comfortable with.

Adozione Famiglia- Adoption Family. I could find no translation for the word adoptive and I like the sound of this anyway. It’s unique.

Prima Famiglia- First Family. Prima famiglia just sounds beautiful doesn’t it?

La famiglia e tutto- Family is everything. This contains posts regarding my husband and children.

I added a category called Funny Honeys. These blogs may or may not be adoption related. Laughter is good for the soul. I have a ton of them saved in favorites and will get the links up as soon as I can.

I would like to add more links to each category so if any of you have suggestions I would be happy to check them out. I have a long list of bookmarked favorites to sort through but I went through each link from blogger individually before moving them here so as of today all of these links are up and running. I removed anyone who had not posted in over two months.

I will be adding a resource page hopefully in the near future with sites for search assistance and support groups and such. Again, any suggestions will be welcomed.

I hope, my friends, that you like the changes.

Love to all of you! Have a beautiful day!

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Welcome!

  1. Welcome to the Dark Side

  2. Hey I like this a lot! Beautiful header photo!

  3. Mia

    LOL good to be here Darth.

    Cloudscome I took that photo on Sanibel Island, FL. It’s hard to take a bad photo there but I love this one too.

  4. Very nice, Mia!

    I can’t figure out how to even get flickr, it keeps freezing me at the yahoo log in page.

    The new site is beautiful and I do like the Italian.

  5. reunionwritings

    La famiglia è tutto, don’t forget the accent. Studio anche la lingua ma non parlo bene.

  6. Ah yes the accents……silly question but I’m not sure how you add those. Is there a way to do this on wordpress?
    So you are either telling me I need to study but also speak the language OR you are telling me I need to study because I don’t express myself well? lol I obviously do need to study a LOT more!

    Thank you for the comment Kim. I was hoping you would drop by and critique my use of Italian for me. I was hoping I hadn’t gotten it too horribly wrong!

  7. kim.kim

    Studio = I study anche= also la lingua= the language
    ma=but non=don’t parlo= I speak bene=well

    I also study the language of italian but don’t speak it well.

  8. Oh wow I gutted that translation!

    Honestly Kim all I am doing is listening to my dad’s old “Learn Italian” records every afternoon. They leave something to be desired. I want to buy the CD’s you mentioned. I may ask Santa for them. ;o)

  9. reunionwritings

    You would really benefit from doing a proper course or getting cd roms. We can borrow them from the library, some are really crap and some are ok.

    Also books help but best of all is classes. One of my singing students is Italian so we swap a vocal coaching session for Italian conversation.

    I used to speak fluently as a child so it must be all stored in my brain somewhere.

    I will send you some links via e-mail, there are some nice websites for learning Italian.

    Non è facile, ma Italiano è una bella lingua. (it’s not easy but italian is a beautiful language)

    ciao
    la tua amica
    Kim

  10. I really appreciate that Kim! Thank you so much! I will check with the local library and see what they have. Perhaps inner library loan from another (larger) library. Could you include the names of some CDs that you like along with the links?

    CIAO la tua amica!

  11. Hi Mia! I’ve been busy lately so I’m just now discovering your new location, but I found you and I’ve updated my blogroll link for you. 🙂

    I like your new digs!

  12. Well, OK! This looks great, Gary!

    I am very new to blogs, having used them just a couple of times with students who were already accustomed to writing in them.

    But I am excited at the possibility that this medium could help us share lessons, ideas, and materials after MyGateway goes down.

    Let’s hear from others.

    Jane

Leave a Reply

