Sanibel Island, Florida

Our vacation in Sanibel Island, Florida was amazing. It is a beautiful paradise filled with tropical birds and Mangrove trees, white sandy beaches and beautiful sunsets. I felt like I was living a Jimmy Buffet song.

We took a sunset cruise. We watched the sun melt into the ocean and dolphins jump and play next to the boat. After I took this picture of my son the batteries died in my camera so you will have to use your imagination regarding the sunset and the dolphins.

I love the sea. There is something so healing about being surrounded by water. As the waves gently lapped up onto the side of the boat I could feel months of stress taking it’s leave. I did well not thinking about adoption. It came up and I pushed it away. It was unwelcome. I was selfish with my time.

Before we left I had a freakish concern that my children would all be eaten by alligators. I even dreamed about it! Fortunately we only saw one the whole time we were there. He was basking in the sun in the Ding Darling Wildlife Preserve. I got some amazing shots of him, wished him well and got the hell out of there.

We learned later that this very alligator had been removed for becoming too aggressive. It turns out people were feeding him and alligators who are fed, over time, lose sight of the difference between their source of food and the food itself. I was maybe four feet from him when I took this photo. Not my most intelligent moment.

The birds on the island were breathtaking. This is a Great Egret who took “great” pride in posing for me.

Among the birds we saw there were the Great Egrets, Snowy Egrets, Osprey (this guy was munching on a fish from the bay.)
Herons (Little Blue, Great Blue, Tri-Colored)
Willet, Sandpiper, Brown Pelican and Roseate Spoonbill seen here nesting in a Mangrove tree.

My favorite of all birds is the Great Blue Heron. Here is a baby Heron. He wobbled about the marsh and I fell in love. As I snapped pictures of him he became very shy and hid his head under his wing. He stayed that way until I quit taking pictures. It was adorable.


This is the lighthouse on the island.

One of the best features of Sanibel Island is the shelling. Due to it’s geographic position it is one of the best places to find sea shells. We barely escaped having to rent a trailor to tow all of the shells we found back home! Once they are unpacked and cleaned I will take some pictures of them. We found just about every kind there are and even found some sand dollars which the kids thought was the coolest.

Our journey home was interesting but I will save that for another day. I missed everyone! I’m glad to be home……….sort of.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Sanibel Island, Florida

  1. What beautiful pictures! I wish I was there right now! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Glad to hear you really enjoyed your FL vacation!

    Welcome back.

  2. suz

    fabulous pictures. seriously. amazing and peaceful. i felt like i was there!

  3. Mia

    Thank You Overwhelmed! We did enjoy it very much.

    Suz in a way you were there. I mailed your package from Sanibel. Our post office was closed by the time we left so it rode all the way there with us! ;o)

  4. Welcome back. Missed you. Your photos are gorgeous. I look forward to seeing your shells, too.

  5. Lovely photos! I love the birds and can’t wait to see the shells…

  6. Ahh, home. I miss it. Glad you had fun.

    Oh and the alligator isn’t a threat until it gets out of the water. Those suckers can run like you wouldn’t believe, and their tails can be serious weapons.

  7. Joy

    Yeah Mia is home!!!!
    I am glad you had a get away.

    I worry about my son all the time, weird silly worries, and then I warn him with silly stupid warnings, and he always says sarcastically,
    “thanks mom, I’ll keep an eye on those gators” or the like

    ((((((((((Mia))))))))))

  8. Rel

    Glad you had some proper time out ๐Ÿ™‚

    That alligator looks so scary!!
    xo

  9. Mia

    Thanks Marie and Clouds! I will get the shell pics up soon. They are soaking in bleach right now.

    Wraith was that supposed to make me feel better?!? ;o)

    Joy that sounds just like something my son would say.

    Rel he WAS scary even though he was “small” for a gator.

  10. Sounds awesome! And I know exactly what you mean about being glad to be home – sort of ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Oooooohhhhhhh, is that what I am supposed to do.

    Umm, wow that’s a little alligator, probably doesn’t have big enough teeth to even bite through a fish scale.

    There feel better?

  12. I’m so glad you’re back. I’ve missed your presence. And, I seething with jealousy over your time at the ocean ;o) I’m glad you had a great time.

    You take gorgeous photos, Mia.

  13. Mia

    Third Mom Yes, being home is bittersweet. And it always seems when you return from vacation you almost need another vacation to recouperate from the first! I’m exhausted!

    Well Mr. Wraith I feel slightly less stupid for getting up close and personal with him so yes, yes it DOES make me feel better! lol

    Rhonda coming from you that’s a real compliment because I think your photos are amazing!

  14. Hi Mia, great photos! I’m so jealous, I wanna go there!!

    Love your blog too, bookmarking it. :)–>

Leave a Reply

