Summer ~Salve for my Soul

The Peace of Wild Things


When despair for the world grows in me

and I wake in the night at the least sound

in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be

I go and lie down where the wood drake

rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.

I come into the peace of wild things

who do not tax their lives with forethought

of grief. I come into the presence of still water.

And I feel above me the day-blind stars

waiting with their light. For a time

I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

Wendell Berry

During the cold Winter months there is too much idle time to sit with sadness and regret. The cold, snowy days make plenty of room for too much thought. It is the absence of sun that hurts.

This Wendell Berry poem reflects my feelings on Summer. During the glorious days of Summer there is so much activity going on that my soul can rest in the grace of the world, and I feel free.

Here are just a few of the reasons I love Summer~

Fresh squeezed lemonade. Watermellon seed spitting contests.


Meadow mint tea, fresh fruits, vegetables and herbs are in abundance. My garden is my sanctuary.

Roasted red peppers drizzled in olive oil and sprinkled with freshly cut basil and sea salt. Homemade potato salad with dill from the garden, a crisp salad and ripe red strawberries made sweeter by the fact that we picked them all ourselves. Of course a little BBQ doesn’t hurt atall’.

I love going into the garden and rubbing the herb leaves between my fingers. Tansy and Lemon Balm are particularly fragrant.

The woodsy apple scent of Chamomile is divine.

Slip and Slides and running through the sprinkler.

Long lazy afternoons reading a good book. Going out for ice cream after dinner, on a whim.

White lights strung on the deck and sleeping under the stars.

Looking for frogs in the creek.

I do love the warm days of Summer.
They are salve to my soul.
6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Summer ~Salve for my Soul

  1. Oh, this is soooooo soothing and wonderful–like a big glass of cold water for a parched soul. Beautiful, beautiful images that bring tears…because we could lose it all (I’m still resonating from going to see “An Inconvenient Truth” last night). Lovely post.

  2. Oh, this is the best post! I love the pictures and I’m envious of your beautiful garden! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Wow. I want to come live at YOUR house. Summers in Phoenix – not so great unless you’re in the pool. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Beautiful poem – thanks for sharing this.

  4. I keep wanting to post the good stuff of life on my blog, I dont know, I think maybe I am going to have to, it was so nice to see on yours.
    MSP

  5. Mia

    Every now and then we all should post about the good stuff. It reminds people that there is more to us. To be totally honest sometimes I need to remind myself as well!

  6. I just found you today, and I love this post. I love your herbs! I hope you find some of this rest and grace in FL this week too.

Leave a Reply

