Thank You!


I saw this in the Readers Digest this morning and thought it was absolutely perfect! I hope RD is O.K. with me posting it here. If anyone thinks I am going to get sued please say something so I can remove it asap! I just had to share it because it seemed so appropriate.

Some time this weekend (maybe even later today) I am going to post my last installment of House Cleaning. What has weighed on my mind for years has been cleaned out and I feel much better. There were just so many things that I felt needed to be said but until now there has been no safe place for me to do it. When it comes to the subject of adoption everybody seems to have an opinion. It can be difficult to find welcome and listening souls, particularly if your opinions and thoughts are outside the rhelm of what society deems normal. Whatever that is right?

I couldn’t tell you when I first began seeing the invisible fence that surrounded me but I know it has been a REALLY long time. For as long as I can remember actually. Being adopted set me apart which in and of itself wasn’t a big deal, I mean I have always been a little “different”. lol It’s just that so much gratitude has always been expected of me by the whole of society and until maybe the last four or five years there was never a place to let out the parts that bothered me about being adopted. The fence may have been invisible but I saw it clearly.

Lately the boundaries of the fence have started to close in which is why I needed to speak my mind. I knew when I began that I risked feeling the wrath of those who disagree but the fence just became too confining not to. Like Anais Nin’s saying; And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.

I want to thank everyone who has stuck by me while I vented and offered encouragement even when they did disagree. I hope when I get back to normal journaling you all will not find it too mundane and continue to stop by because I love each and every one of you.

Ciao Bella!!!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Thank You!

  1. That’s the great thing about blogging. It’s a relatively non-threatening place to get things out and possibly get some understanding and encouragement along the way.

  2. suz

    lovely post. and i agree. i completely understand your fence concept (only from my perspective and with my own thoughts, issues, needs, voice, etc.).

    and, hey, nothing wrong with being “different”. covey says “freaks are good” and I totally agree. i love freaks. i love those that deviate from the norm, dare to be their own free spirit, strike their own path! heres to yours!

  3. I love that cartoon.
    One of my favorite pictures on my walls is one of a fence in sand with nothing but sand on both sides and it says
    I began to wonder what I was fencing in and what I was fencing out.

    MSP

Leave a Reply

