Secrets


Last night I picked up Depak Chopra’s The Book of Secrets.

I had to laugh because the first paragraph reads: “The deepest hunger in life is a secret that is revealed only when a person is willing to unlock a hidden part of the self. In the ancient traditions of wisdom, this quest has been likened to diving for the most precious pearl in existence, a poetic way of saying that you have to swim far out beyond shallow waters, plunge deep into yourself, and search patiently until the pearl beyond price is found.”

I was thinking OH GREAT, I just stood UP in the shallow pool, now you are telling me to dive back in and swim?!? lololol

Here are a few other interesting quotes~

“The one reality is spirit, and the surface of life is only a disguse with a thousand masks that keeps us from discovering what is real. A thousand years ago, such a statement would have met with no arguement. Spirit was accepted everywhere as the true source of life. Today, we have to look with new eyes at the mystery of existence, for as proud children of science and reason we have made ourselves the orphans of wisdom.

and this~

“It isn’t possible for the self to keep secrets from itself forever, no matter how thoroughly we’ve been trained to believe otherwise.”

The next chapter talks about a similar concept to peak experiencing.

See? When you are ready the teacher does indeed show up full force! We are never left to flounder as long as we are open to learning.

I was just talking with a friend of mine (my thoughts and prayers are with you M) about learning and growing in the world that is adoption. There are people within The Adoptive Plane who very clearly are not ready to experience (hear) certain things. They depart quickly from our world hopefully to return when the time is right for them. As frustrating as it can be I think we have to be gentle with them. Hopefully some day they will will be open to truth and when they are ready their teachers will show up.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Secrets

  1. Hi Mia, I have been reading your blog for a month or so now and really enjoy it. I started to respond to your comment on Suz’s post about obsession and then decided to come over here. I hear what you are saying when you loved ones think you are obsessed. I respect the way you are approaching both an understanding of who you are as an adoptee and who you are including being an adoptee. I always found great truth in Maslows hierarchy too, though I have moved away a bit from believing it is our purpose as human beings, I still believe his premise that we can not/do not move ahead to higher functioning/actualization until the needs below on the pyramid are met. How can you worry about acheiving contributing to society when you don’t have safety or food, etc.

    I just want to encourage you on your quest to sort through all your feelings, explore and also to think and learn about what it means in terms of growth as an individual – but also say don’t be afraid of feeling the feelings. The intellectual side is good, and I know sometimes it is a break from when the feelings have been intense. Others may not understand, but this period of passion and focus on adoption as it is a part of you, doesn’t mean you are obsessed. It means you are growing, integrating, changing, becoming. All the pain of growth, of revisiting. You often can’t move forward without moving through it.

    I love your voice hear on this blog, I hurt for you and weep for you, and often wish I could give you a hug. I listen to your words and wonder what my daughter will experience, need to integrate her whole story into a strong healthy sense of self.(I am an adoptive mom to a six year old in a closed adoption, but have recently tried to make contact with her birthmother).

    I know this blog s for you, for you to work out and I hope my comments aren’t intrusive into that process. I just wanted you to know that your sharing is also appreciated and helpful to those of us who lurk and read.

  2. Haven’t visited your blog for awhile. I bought this Chopra book last year but haven’t been able to get very far into it. Maybe because I feel that as adoptees, this “self” that others take for granted and that we are encouraged to explore is trapped in the shallow end of the pool. It’s like being a little kid who floats but can’t figure out how to push down into the water to dive for pennies. I can’t explain it any better. I feel both rage and a longing to be gentle at the same time.

  3. shadow_dancer

    Mia, I’m a reunited adoptee and really enjoy your blog.

  4. Mia

    This post has been removed by the author.

  5. Mia

    Hi Marlene,
    Please never feel like you are intruding. I value input!

    You have some really valid points here. I don’t think Ghandi would have agreed with Maslow’s basic needs theory either! lol

    I understand what you are saying about not being afraid to feel. I sometimes think I spend too much time on the feeling and less on the intellectual though. It’s the Libra in me I think. Passionate about everything!

    I love your idea that I am growing, integrating, changing and becoming. As long as I’m progressing I am OK.

    Thank you again so much for your comments. I hope you stop by again!

  6. Mia

    Marie I have felt both, I understand.

    Thank you Shadow Dancer!

  7. Neurolinguistic Programming

    In the early 1970s in America Richard Bandler, then a young college student studied the work of Fritz Perls and later Virginia Satir and found that he could reproduce their high-level therapy skills to a degree that even surprised him. Bandler seemed to have a natural ability to mimic (model) the language patterns by Virginia and Fritz.

    At the University of California at Santa Cruz, Bandler who was well versed in the teachings of patterns in mathematics and computers teamed up with a college professor, John Grinder to help him understand the processes that were at work. Soon Bandler and Grinder, who used what he knew about patterns in linguistics, created a new model for personal growth called NeuroLinguistic Programming.

    Bandler and Grinder had set out to model the hypnotic skills of Milton Erickson. They had astounding results. They built a communication model about human “thinking” and “processing” and used that model of how we see images, hear sounds, reproduces smells and tactile experiences in our mind to track and model the structure of subjective experiences.

    Sounds very complicated but really it works very simply. Here is an example as used by Paul McKenna – probably the best & most successful hypnotist in the world.

    Close your eyes and think of a negative memory. Become involved in the situation as best as you can. Feel the emotions that you felt, see the things you saw and hear the things you heard.

    Now take that memory and project it onto a mental screen seeing yourself in the picture. Put a frame around the picture and view it as if it is an old photograph. Next drain all the colour from the picture and shrink the screen to the size of a matchbox.

    Have the feelings associated with the picture decreased in any way?

    Another good example of NLP involves Anchors. Have you ever smelt a certain perfume or aftershave and had it remind you of a certain person or situation? Gone to a certain place that brings feelings long forgotten flooding back? Or been in any situation that creates emotional responses that would not normally be associated with it? Well if you can answer yes to any of these then you have experienced anchors. Some anchors are associated with positive feelings and some with negative emotions. However, you should be aware that anchors can be consciously installed or already existing ones altered. Here is an example:

    Think of a time when you were really happy. If you can’t think of one then imagine something that would make you feel really happy. See what you would see, hear what you would hear and feel what you would feel. Really get into the picture and try to experience it as though it were happening now.

    Now brighten the colours and make them richer. Increase the volume. Make the picture bigger, brighter, louder. That’s it and more and more….

    Now press your first finger against your thumb and fully experience your happy feelings. Do this everyday for 2 weeks and you will create an anchor that will instantly recreate these feelings. Whenever you want to feel like that again just press your thumb and first finger together and wham the feelings will come flooding back! Don’t believe me? Just try it and see!!! personal development plan

Leave a Reply

